My thoughts have been a little bit everywhere this past week.  My great-grandmother passed away in Jan and this month she would have been 95 years old.  On top of that there have been two deaths in my husband’s family back to back this week alone.  I mention all of this because it had me thinking about the future.

As a society a lot of us are stuck in that “looking towards the future” mentality.  You know that “I can’t wait till I get rich, get married, lose weight, grow my hair out, turn into an adult, retire…etc. I think you know what I mean here.

poetikmind future

One of the most important lessons that I have learned in life is to be present, fully aware and thankful for right NOW.  There is no better time to begin enjoying your life than now because no one is promised tomorrow.  Take this from a woman who has experienced some thiiiiings in her life (I’m sure we all have though ;))!  I know what it’s like to struggle and not have and feel low and I also know what it’s like to have a little extra and feel great, but we all have our seasons.  I remember when I was in college, I lived in an area that I totally didn’t want to be in but at the time I had no choice.  I still had to do what I had to do which was to go to school and work & work hard and seek help to move out.  My mind at those times was so focused on the future and getting out. I wanted a better place and to be in a better neighborhood because I was surrounded by a lot of negative things at that time, but it was during those times that I learned some of the greatest lessons about myself and my relationship with God, hey I’m still learning now!  There is a season and reason for everything, we may not always know what that is but worrying about the future won’t change anything either.  God is always in control; use this as a reminder to be present and thankful.  There is nothing wrong with working hard, planning and preparing for the future (that’s smart actually) but don’t miss out on the beauty that is your life in this very moment.  LIVE NOW!

peacePeace & Blessings!

~Limarie

